History of NPHC of CJ

In the summer of 2009 Patricia Arroyo from the Nu Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. solicited all the graduate chapters from the historically black fraternities and sororites in the Central Jersey area. Ms. Arroyo mailed a letter to all the black greek organizations in the Central Jersey area requesting their attendance at an interest group meeting to be held at The Island Breeze in Somerset, NJ on September 26, 2009.

On September 26, 2009 members from different organizations reviewed information and discussed the process to become the National Pan-Hellenic Council of Central Jersey. On this date everyone in attendance agreed to proceed with this challenging goal and became the Central Jersey D-9 interest group.

Since that first meeting, a meeting was held monthly at the basement boardroom in Muhlenburg Hospital in Plainfield, NJ. At these meetings the Central Jersey D-9 worked on the numerous task required to become a recognized council of the National Pan-Hellenic Council and partnerships with affiliated chapters.

On March 21, 2010 Central Jersey D-9 received an email from the Executive Director of the National Pan-Hellenic Council, Beverly Burks informing Central Jersey D-9, that they were approved for a charter and that they were now the National Pan-Hellenic Council of Central Jersey. 


Charting Chapters of the NPHC of Central Jersey are as follows: 

Nu Xi Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 
Phi Eta Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 
Theta Phi Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 
Eta Omicron Zeta Chapter, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 
Theta Psi Lambda Chapter, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. 
Zeta Nu Lambda Chapter, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. 
Delta Kappa Sigma Chapter, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. 
Central Jersey Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 
New Brunswick Alumni Chapter, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. 
Omicron Chi Chapter, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. 
Alpha Xi Omega Chapter, Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. 

Chartering Executive Board is as follows:

Patricia Arroyo, President, Nu Xi Omega 
Stephanie Knox, Vice-President, Nu Xi Omega 
Ainsley A. Reynolds, Treasurer, Theta Psi Lambda 
Jacquel McDonald, Secretary, Eta Omicron Zeta 
Shalonda Tanner, Parliamentarian, Eta Omicron Zeta
Allan McPherson, Public Relations Chair, Zeta Nu Lambda 
Rozlyn Dreher, Financial Secretary, Delta Kappa Sigma

© 2017 by NPHCCJ.ORG. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • c-facebook
  • Twitter Classic